Label


The Success Family of CE Companies provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to insurance continuing education requirements.  Due to regulatory requirements we suggest that you contact your state department of insurance to insure that no regulatory changes have been enacted.  Although ongoing efforts have been made to qualify that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither The Success Family of CE Companies nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

Nevada Insurance CE Requirements


Insurance Continuing Education Hours Required

  • 30 hours are required triennially. of which at least 3 hours must be approved as Ethics
  • 16 hours are required biennially for combined LH/PC/Personal Lines licenses, of which 3 hours must be approved as Ethics


State Specific Insurance Continuing Education Courses

  • All Nevada licensed resident insurance producers who sell federal flood insurance policies shall be required to complete a one time 3 hour requirement on flood insurance.
  • Initial 8-hour long term care training requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC insurance products in Nevada, a producer must be licensed with the 'Accident and Health or Sickness' line of authority; and have completed eight (8) hours of Nevada approved initial LTC training.

  • Ongoing 4-hour long term care training requirement: A 4-hour follow-up long term care training course must be completed during each two-year period following the two-year period in which the person completed the initial 8-hour long term care training requirement.


Insurance Continuing Education Renewal or Compliance Date for Licensees

  • First day of the month following the license issuance date, triennially.


Insurance Continuing Education Types of Courses Accepted

  • On-Line courses, Independent self study courses or classroom.


Monitor Requirements

  • Exams MUST BE monitored by a disinterested third party, manager, or supervisor.
  • Due to COVID-19 the Disinterested third party monitor is waived until 9/30/2021


Reporting to Your State
  • $1.00 per credit hour is required to report to your state.

  • State Insurance completions are reported 2 times every business day. If course is completed after 2 PM PT, it will be reported the following business day.

  • CFP reports are sent on Friday at 2 PM PT to the CFP Board electronically.

  • You may also self-report your CFP completions to www.cfp.net


Insurance Continuing Education Carryover Hours & Course Repetition

  • No excess CE credit hours may be carried over to the next renewal period.
  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a 3 year period.


Insurance Continuing Education Exemptions

  • Non resident agents
  • Individuals who have a limited license
  • Individuals who have had 20 years or more of continuous experience, as a primary source of income, in the field of insurance selling, marketing, underwriting, adjusting, practicing law, managing, regulating, or engaging in any combination of these activities.
  • Individuals who are a CLU, CPCU, CIC, ChFC OR CFP. 


Method to Certify Completion:

  • For Most States you will be able to print your certificate of completion online once you have completed your exam
  • The Licensee should Submit the Original Certificate(s) of Completion along with their Insurance License Renewal Form, to the Nevada Department of Insurance, prior to their renewal date. 
  • It may, however, take your State DOI or regulatory board up to 30 days to report your completion results on their systems.
  • As an added service, we can Rapidly Mail all of your completed courses the same business day (per credit order) for only $25.


Nonresidents:


  • Initial LTC Requirement: A non-resident producer must complete an initial 8-hour NAIC LTC training course approved by the state of  Nevada OR complete an 8-hour NAIC LTC course from another state to fulfill  Nevada requirements. 

  • On-going LTC Requirement: A 4-hour follow-up LTC course is required every 24 months.


Department of Insurance Contact Information:  

            Nevada Insurance Division
            Licensing Section

            1818 E. College Pkwy., Suite 103
            Carson City, NV 89706
            PHONE: (775) 687- 0700

            FAX: (775) 687-0787

    FAX for Consumer Compliance & Licensing: (775) 687-0797


State Website: http://www.doi.state.nv.us/

For a listing of the State Departments of Insurance websites provided by the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners),

Please go to: http://www.naic.org/state_web_map.htm

 

            The Success Family of CE Companies provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to insurance continuing education requirements. Due to regulatory requirements we suggest that you contact your state department of insurance to insure that no regulatory changes have been enacted.  Although ongoing efforts have been made to qualify that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither The Success Family of CE Companies nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.