Label


The Success Family of CE Companies provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to insurance continuing education requirements.  Due to regulatory requirements we suggest that you contact your state department of insurance to insure that no regulatory changes have been enacted.  Although ongoing efforts have been made to qualify that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither The Success Family of CE Companies nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

New Mexico Insurance CE Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Hours Required

  • License Issued or Renewed Prior to July 1, 2017: 15-hours of insurance CE, including 1 hour of ethics are required by April 30, 2018.
  • License Issued or Renewed After to July 1, 2017: 24-hours of insurance CE, including 3 hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.
  • Title insurance licensees shall annually complete 7 credit hours of approved courses covering title insurance.
  • All other licensees shall annually complete 15 credit hours of approved courses covering some or all of the kinds of insurance for which they are licensed.
  • Initial 8-hour long term care training requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC insurance products in New Mexico, a producer must be licensed with the 'Accident and Health or Sickness' line of authority; and have completed eight (8) hours of New Mexico approved initial LTC training.

  • Ongoing 4-hour long term care training requirement: A 4-hour follow-up long term care training course must be completed during each two-year period following the two-year period in which the person completed the initial 8-hour long term care training requirement.

Insurance Continuing Education State Specific Courses

  • 3 hour must be in Ethics.
  • Approved courses must be in the line of insurance for which is license is held
  • All New Mexico resident insurance agents licensed in P/C (Property Casualty) line of authority that may sell a flood insurance policy must complete a one-time 3 hour course related to the NFIP.

Insurance Continuing Education Renewal or Compliance Date for Licensees

  • Annually, September 30
  • The continuing education credit year shall begin on October 1st of each year and end on September 30th of the following year. CE compliance filed 11/1 through 3/1 must include a $50 late fee.

Insurance Continuing Education Types of Courses Accepted

  • Independent self-study courses or classroom
  • Self -study allowed only for licensees living in areas where classes are not offered or where class attendance would impose a hardship.

Monitor Requirements

  • Final Exams DO NOT require a monitor.
  • Final Exams are open book.

Insurance Continuing Education Carryover Hours & Course Repetition

  • No carry-over. No licensee may carryover credit hours earned in one compliance year to the next compliance year.
  • No duplicate credit. No additional credit will be granted to a licensee for completion of the same approved course more than once in any three year period.

Exemptions:

  • Any licensee, that has been continuously licensed and in good standing for 25 years, is eligible to apply for a Grandfather Exemption.
  • To apply for the Grandfather Exemption you must submit a notarized statement, with a brief description of your 25 year insurance experience. Please list your license number on your request. A filing fee of $15.00 is required. Make check or money orders payable to Office of Superintendent of Insurance. (Do not accept cash or electronic payments). If your request is incomplete or incorrect you will be notified by mail and must resubmit your request with new fees. All fees are deemed earned when paid and are not refundable. NMSA 59A-6.1
  • Individuals who maintain a license solely for the purpose of receiving renewal fee residuals who do not otherwise transact insurance.
  • Newly licensed individuals are exempt for the reporting period in which the license is issued, unless previously licensed as a resident or nonresident in New Mexico.
  • Individuals who act as agents for fraternal benefit societies
  • Individuals holding limited licenses for transportation/ baggage insurance or credit life/health insurance.

Method to Certify Completion:

  • For Most States you will be able to print your certificate of completion online once you have completed your exam.
  • We usually report to the State Department of Insurance or regulatory board by the next business day. (The state charges $2 per credit hour to get your CE reported)
  • It may, however, take your State DOI or regulatory board up to 30 days to report your completion results on their systems.

Non-residents

  • A non-resident producer’s continuing education requirement is met if the non-resident producer fulfills his or her home state continuing education requirement and the home state also grants such reciprocity. Must submit proof of home state compliance and the CE filing fee.

Department of Insurance Contact Information:

New Mexico Office of Superintendent

Mailing Address

Office of Superintendent of Insurance
PO Box 1689
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1689

Physical Address

Office of Superintendent of Insurance
4th Floor
1120 Paseo De Peralta
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Phone / Email / Website

1-855-4ASK-OSI (1-855-427-5674)
Email: Ask the Superintendent!
http://www.osi.state.nm.us/