Label


The Success Family of CE Companies provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to insurance continuing education requirements.  Due to regulatory requirements we suggest that you contact your state department of insurance to insure that no regulatory changes have been enacted.  Although ongoing efforts have been made to qualify that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither The Success Family of CE Companies nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

Virginia Insurance CE Requirements

CE Hours Required

  • 16 hours are required biennially for single line licensees.
  • 24 hours are required biennially if you hold more than 1 license.

State Specific Courses

 

  • Must complete 3 hours of Ethics (which may include Virginia Insurance Laws & Regulations) as part of the basic requirement.
  • All Virginia licensed resident insurance producers who sell federal flood insurance policies shall be required to complete a one time 3 hour requirement on flood insurance.
  • Licensed agents may not sell a Partnership Policy in Virginia unless and until they have received the (8) hours of initial training.  The initial training must consist of six (6) hours of general Long Term Care topics and two (2) hours of LTC Partnership topics. 
  • At least 8 hours must be relevant to each license type of 24 hours is required.  All hours must be relevant to license type held if 16 credit hours are required.
  • Life, Annuities, and Health is considered a single license for CE requirements.

Renewal or Compliance Date for Licensees

 

  • 12/31 of even numbered years.

Types of Courses Accepted

 

  • Independent self study courses, classroom study, or courses sponsored by an insurance company and/or agency in which only 75% of the CE requirement per reporting period may be earned.

 Monitor Requirements

 

  • Exams MUST BE monitored by a by a supervisor, supervisor-authorized co-worker, or test administrator, or disinterested third party.

Carryover Hours & Course Repetition

 

  • Excess credit hours may be carried over to the next renewal period, but hours must be reported in biennium in which course was taken.
  • Courses (including courses approved to meet the law requirement) may not be taken more than once in each renewal period.  

Exemptions:

  • A resident or nonresident agent who is at least 65 and can demonstrate that he/she has held any combination of resident or nonresident Virginia licenses of equivalent type continuously for at least 20 years.
  • A resident agent who is at least 65 and will have held a Virginia resident license continuously for at no fewer than 4 years by the end of the biennium and can furnish proof of having held equivalent license authority continuously in other states for an additional 16 years, for a total of 20 years of continuous licensing.
  • An agent who is at least 65 by the end of the biennium and has held a resident Virginia license continuously for the past 4 years as well as holding the same license authority for twenty of the past thirty years in Virginia without interruption by license revocation or Commission termination.
  • Individuals who hold a limited line license, such as credit life/health, travel accident and travel baggage insurance agents.
  • Non resident agents if their state has CE requirements and has a reciprocal agreement with Virginia
  • Individuals may request a waiver for good cause, submit to Thomson Prometric
  • Individuals who are licensed less than one year at the time of the first CE compliance date are exempt for that first reporting period. 

Method to Certify Completion:

 

  • For Most States you will be able to print your certificate of completion online once you have completed your exam.
  • We usually report to the State Department of Insurance or regulatory board by the next business day.
  • The licensed agent must pay a $15.00 processing fee to Sircon before credits can be applied to the CE requirement. Go to http://www.virginiainsurancece.com/ Under CE-Agent Services, click on the “Pay 2013-2014 $15 CE Filing Fee” link You will be redirected to Sircon to pay by credit card.  If you have any questions please contact Pearson Vue at 877-234-6093

  • As an added service, we can Rapidly Report all of your completed courses the same business day (per credit order) for only $25.

Nonresidents:

  • Eligible for compliance based in reciprocity between the laws of Virginia and all other states. Compliance with home state requirement will be verified on the PDB. NR must submit CE filing fee to the CE administrator by Feb. 28 following the end of the compliance period.

Department of Insurance Contact Information:

 

            Bureau of Insurance
            Agent Licensing Section

            P.O. Box 1157
            Richmond, VA 23218
            Phone: (804) 371-9741
            Fax: (804) 371-9349

 

            State Website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/index.aspx

 

For a listing of the State Departments of Insurance websites provided by the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners),

Please go to: http://www.naic.org/state_web_map.htm

 

            The Success Family of CE Companies provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to insurance continuing education requirements.  Due to regulatory requirements we suggest that you contact your state department of insurance to insure that no regulatory changes have been enacted.  Although ongoing efforts have been made to qualify that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither The Success Family of CE Companies nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.